Bookish Questions

Here’s a kind of get-to-know-me question and answer tag, bookish style!

When was the last time you cried while reading a book?

I think it was when re-reading I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. Strangely enough, the first time I read this I didn’t find it very emotional at all. It was only when I read it for a second time that I seemed to read into it more deeply and found a stronger connection with the beautiful art and love imagery (specifically regarding Noah and Brian’s relationship).

What is your favourite snack while you’re reading?

It has to be chocolate, of any kind really. I’m not particularly fussy when it comes to junk food.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

It has to have maximum cosiness. Plenty of soft blankets and pillows that I can lay on. If I were fortunate enough to be able to re design a whole room, I’d adore an enormous bookcase that spanned from the floor to the ceiling. That would be utter perfection.

What kind of books do you like to read?

I’ve always been a fan of YA novels, as you can probably tell from my previous blog posts. This is particularly because in the future it is one of my biggest goals to write a young adult novel. However, I wouldn’t say I’m the kind of person who has a favourite genre; I can enjoy books of various styles and formats. But if we’re talking from what I have read so far, the books I’ve mainly enjoyed are from YA, fantasy and dystopian science fiction.

What was the last book you read?

On Black Sister’s Street by Chika Unigwe.

Was it good?

This kind of book is not something I think that is meant to be enjoyed, but is designed to make people think. The content is truly disturbing and enraging, but did it make for an interesting read? Yes. I found it so horrifying yet fascinating that I simply couldn’t tear my eyes away.

Would you recommend it to other people?

If you are interested on broadening your knowledge about how hard the sex industry, racism, and not being able to truly be yourself, can be, I would definitely read this. That being said, if you’re a younger reader please do not read this as there are some extremely graphic and intense parts that just aren’t suitable for younger people to read.

Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (e.g. kindle)

Absolutely, undoubtedly, physical books. I’ve never been a fan of any other way to read a book, really. I feel like there’s just nothing better than having your own copy of a book you love. And of course the excitement when you pick up a book from a library or bookshop.

Which book do you wish had a sequel?

I would choose I’ll Give You The Sun, as mentioned before. There are so many unanswered questions and I am longing to know what became of Noah and Brain’s relationship, and Jude and Oscar’s. Also, to know August from Wonder (written by R.J Palacio) as a teenager, or even as an adult, would be so fascinating. The struggles from his facial deformity as a child would differ from that of a teenager, or an adult.

How long does it take you to read a book?

It absolutely depends on how invested I am in the plot or characters. If I were to pick up a book myself, I generally would start it straight away and not put it down until it’s finished. However if I were assigned a novel to read for university that I wasn’t enjoying, I would either never end up finishing it or finishing it way after the seminar when we discuss it comes around. That being said, I am a quick reader.

Who is your favourite childhood author?

Jacqueline Wilson, 100%. My bookshelves were stocked full of every single one of her books as a kid. When I was younger I even met her (something that I will never stop annoying people talking about), and she complimented my dress. I practically passed out with joy. I suppose you could say J.K Rowling is also a favourite childhood author of mine. I grew up with Harry Potter, and since I’m still so obsessed with the Wizarding world now, she has always been a big influence of mine.

What is the nearest book to your left?

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I’ve been re-reading it to procrastinate from doing anything remotely productive.

Which book have you been putting off reading? Why?

The Edible Woman by Margaret Attwood, as part of my university reading. I can’t even give a justifiable excuse as to why.

Do you read when on public transport/ travelling?

Absolutely not. I’d love to, it’d be a great way to pass the time, but I get so dizzy and sick reading when moving, particularly in cars. I cannot even look at my phone for too long, so you can guess how hellish most journeys are for me.

If you had to choose one favourite character from the Harry Potter series, who would you choose?

That is quite possibly the hardest question I’ve ever been asked. I love every character for such different reasons. Maybe I’d say Fred and George (they’re not two separate entities in my mind haha), because they bring such humour and life into a world that so desperately needs it.

Do you enjoy different forms of the written word?

I do, but I don’t connect to anything else quite like I do to novels. I am interested in reading more poetry and more plays that are more gripping to me than what I’ve read before.

THANK YOU FOR READING!

Image result for bookshelf

Leave a Reply

