The Jingle Bell Book Tag

“All I Want For Christmas Is You…” | What book do you want to see under the Christmas Tree?

Shockingly, I haven’t actually asked for any books for Christmas this year. Kind of unbelievable- I always ask for at least one. But if I had to choose, I think either The Great Gatsby or the beautiful edition of Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca that I keep seeing in Waterstones.

“Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time…” | What book that you have read this year have you enjoyed the most?

I think it has to be Call Me By Your Name, one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read. God, I couldn’t stop thinking about that book for weeks. 

“It’s Beginning to look a lot like Christmas…” | Which book has the most festive look to it?

Phillip Pullman’s Northern Lights! Not overtly Christmassy, but its Winter fantasy qualities give the illusion of festivity. 

Elf | What book unleashes your inner child?

Obviously, the irreplaceable Harry Potter series. And because the films always pop up on TV over Christmas, I associate them very strongly with Winter and festivity. 

The Grinch | Your favourite villain…

In keeping with the Christmas theme, I’m going to choose Scrooge from Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. Initially a horrendous man, but succumbs to happiness in the end. Also, his negativity is often amusing to me. 

The Holiday | Name your favourite TWO couples…

Noah and Brian from I’ll Give You The Sun. Their shy, youthful romance makes me feel warm. Sephy and Callum from Noughts & Crosses, because although their love made me frustrated and at times shattered, it is so powerful. 

What book would you like to give as a present to your followers?

A Thousand Splendid Suns because, although not in keeping with the cheer of Christmas, I recently re-read it and it is such an important read. 

Thank you for reading! I tag anyone reading who wants to answer these questions 🙂 

Image result for a christmas carol book

Author:

My intentions for this blog are to review, inform, entertain, and ultimately offer my own insights and thoughts into the wonderful creation that is the novel. My blogposts will generally consist of my own opinions and impressions of novels that I believe to be particularly good, or especially bad. Additionally, I enjoy recommending and talking about my favourite books (to those who aren’t sick of it by now), so if you’re stuck for a new book, hopefully this blog will help you out. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment